I feel like I’m finally getting there with my step-daughter’s prom dress! I offered to make it for her as a way of connecting with her – at 15 yrs old and having gone through a tough time, no contact with her mum etc, she finds it hard to communicate with adults. It’s all new to me of course, my eldest being 12 but let’s just say I DO remember being 15 myself…

After discussion she decided on a straight column dress, one shouldered, princess seams, very fitted with a split on one side.

20130412-102345 AM.jpg
This is the pattern and the fabric we finally decided on. It’s duchess satin in a pale blue and it frays like hell so it’s a good job the dress will be lined.

20130412-102502 AM.jpg
We have had many fittings and adjustments (I made a muslin out of curtain lining to get the right fit first) and today I finally faced my fear of the invisible zipper foot and inserted the zip. I’m pleased with the quality of the result.

20130412-102712 AM.jpg

20130412-102734 AM.jpg
It’s all coming together! I’m going to stitch the lining this afternoon and hope to have the dress finished apart from hemming, by Sunday. I have lots of my own sewing projects planned once its all over!

20130412-102910 AM.jpg

I also want to spend a bit more time on this blog which is very sadly neglected.

